• Home
  • /
  • Desi
  • /
  • Bigg Boss Winners: Then and Now
Bigg Boss

Bigg Boss Winners: Then and Now

On Sept. 29, season 13 of Bigg Boss will be premiering  on Aapka Colors. So far, the show has only announced a few of its participants: Ameesha Patel, Devoleena Bhattacharjee and Siddharth Shukla. The host will be none other than superstar Salman Khan. At a press conference, Khan teased journalists about a host of changes from last season, saying,  “it will be two seasons in one.” 

Before the 13th season begins, let’s take a look at previous seasons and their winners. 

Season 1 – (2006)
Rahul Roy 

The very first winner of the show, Rahul Roy, walked off with Rs 1 crore of prize money. Roy made his Bollywood debut in the hit film Aashiqui (1990) and  then went on to act in a few Bollywood films (Junoon, Jaanam, and Dilwale Kabhi Na Hare, among others). In 2007, he won Bigg Boss Season 1 and then started Rahul Roy Productions, which released the film Elaan in Nov. 2011.

Season 2 – (2007)
Ashutosh Kaushik

The winner of season two was Ashutosh Kaushik, who also won MTV Roadies 5 has since fallen off the radar. His Bollywood appearances were limited to Zila Ghaziabad and Kismat Love Paisa Dilli. 

Season 3 – (2009)
Vindhu Dara Singh

The winner for season 3 was Vindhu Dara Singh, who has acted in many small roles in Bollywood over the years. He was arrested in May 2013 for alleged links to bookies during the IPL spot fixing scandal, but he was released when the  links could not be verified.

Season 4 – (2011)
Shweta Tiwari

The winner was Shweta Tiwari, who was awarded Rs 1 crore. Since winning the show, she has continued to appear in serials like Begusarai (2016) and Mere Dad Ki Dulhan (2013). In 2019, her marriage to actor Abhinav Kohli raised much controversy within the industry.

Season 5 – (2012)
Juhi Parmar

Season 5 catapulted Bigg Boss and introduced Sunny Leone to nationwide fame. At the time, Sunny Leone was a pornstar and enlivened the show with her personality. Even though she didn’t win the show, it was enough for Bollywood to come calling. The show’s eventual winner, Juhi Parmar, is best known for portraying Kumkum in Kumkum – Ek Pyara Sa Bandhan. She has gone on to appear in a few other serials over the years, but has since seen her stardom plummet.

Season 6  (2012-13)
Urvashi Dholakia

Season 6‘s eventual winner, Dholakia ( of Kasautii Zindagi Kii fame), has gone on to appear in various serials and reality shows (Nach Baliye 9, Badi Door Se Aaye Hai, and many others).

Season 7 (2013)
Gauhar Khan

The final winner of the 7th season was Gauhar Khan, who has gone on to make a name for herself in Bollywood. She has appeared in Badrinath Ki Dulhania, Begum Jaan, and Naagin 3. Quite the transformation from where fans first saw her.

Season 8 (2014-15)

Winner- Gautam Gulati

Season 8’s eventual winner, Gulati, has gone on to appear in reality shows (Kapil Sharma Show) and Bollywood movies (Azhar). He has even appeared in Eros Now’s web series called Operation Cobra.

Season 9 (2015-16)

Winner- Prince Narula

Popular reality show contestant Prince Narula won season 9 and has gone on to win Roadies X2 and Splitsvilla 8. Narula has started appearing in popular shows such as Naagin 3 and MTV Roadies. He made his digital debut in Zee 5’s Bombers. He is married to Yuvika Chaudhary, whom he met when they were both participants on Bigg Boss.

Season 10 (2016-17)
Manveer Gurjar

In season 10, when Colors TV began allowing non-celebrities to participate on the show. Manveer Gurjar was one such contestant on season 10, who end up  competing against Swami Om, Rahul Dev, Karan Mehra, Antara Biswas, and others. Gurjar went on to win the season, along with Rs 40 lakh. He hasn’t appeared in the media or any television shows since.

Season 11 (2017-18)
Shilpa Shinde

TV actress Shilpa Shinde went on to win the show in the 11th season, beating actress Hina Khan for the top spot. For the first time since the show began, the audience who chose the winner, submitting votes using an application for the first time.

Season 12 (2018)
Dipika Kakar

The latest season of Bigg Boss saw actress Dipika Kakar walk away with the prize, beating controversial former India bowler Sreesanth.

Are you ready for season 13?

Watch Bigg Boss every night at 8:30PM on Aapka Colors TV, starting this Sunday, Sept. 29!